(Day 9): “Purple People Eater” Cell phone case

Woo hoo it’s March! For those of you who don’t know it’s National Craft Month (and Women’s History month)! For the next 30 days I will be crafting, and blogging about it. I will show you my inspiration (with links to the original) and my version, changes etc.  Happy crafting!

Purple People Eater Cell Phone Case (Felt)

Today’s craft takes inspiration from a “monster” cellphone case I saw online. I didn’t have the link to the original picture and could not find directions. So with this craft I just kind of free-handed it. The cell phone case is made out of purple (“Barney-colored”) felt. Since it was purple and intended to be monster-themed, I automatically thought of the ‘”Purple People Eater” song I learned back in elementary school.  However my cellphone case is “one-eyed, or one-horned: and technically “eats” cellphones, maybe Ishould call the “Purple Cellphone Eater.” Anywho, check it out!

cell phone caseHow I Made it:

I measured the two piece of felt to the size of my cell phone. Make sure there is at least a 1/2 inch for the seams. Put them on top of each other and sewed the longer sides together( creating a “tube”).  Squeeze  the tube together  “hot-dog style”  and cut a slit from one corner of the seam to the other. DO NOT cut the seam. This will be the opening “the mouth” in the front.  Then sew the shorter ends. closing the top and the bottom of the tube. Then all four corners so it is not pointy.  Starting from the opening or “the mouth” turn the entire thing inside out.  This is the outside of the cellphone case, decorate it as a monster or as you desire.

Hope  this is clear. Any confusion just ask.

*Behind on my crafting… trying to catch up*

Leave a Reply

