(Day 6): Quilling

Woo hoo it’s March! For those of you who don’t know it’s National Craft Month (and Women’s History month)! For the next 30 days I will be crafting, and blogging about it. I will show you my inspiration (with links to the original) and my version, changes etc.  Happy crafting!

Quilling

 I’ve seen a lot of quilling lately all over Pinterest. So I thought I’d give it a try. Most of the quilling I have seen has been of letters or flowers. Also, just as monogrammed wall art. Here’s an inspiration (example) of a quilled letter:

 You first start by printing out an outline of the letter or shape you want to quill (or  freehand it if your that good). Cut construction paper, or colored paper into skinny and/or thick strips. I used a paper shreader–because I’m not very good with scissors–to make them even. Outline the letter or shape with a few of the strips (like a fence/wall). Tutorials will say you need a quill tool (with a slot to slip the paper in) or use a large sewing needle. However I just used a pencil, holding one end to the pencil, I wrapped the paper around the pencil into a coil. If you want a tight coil, glue the end in place. Otherwise pull the coil off the pencil and let it uncoil a bit to your desire. Fill the letter/shape will the coils, tight and loose. You can also bend and squeeze the coils too. Glue into place.

If you would like to see a more detailed tutorial check out Craftastical.

Instead of making it wall art, I’m going to use it on a homemade card for my sister’s  birthday. (I’ll be sure to post the final card). But for now, here is my version of the quilled letter (J is for my sister’s name):

Leave a Reply

