Day 4: Stick Necklace

Woo hoo it’s March! For those of you who don’t know it’s National Craft Month (and Women’s History month)! For the next 30 days I will be crafting, and blogging about it. I will show you my inspiration (with links to the original) and my version, changes etc.  Happy crafting!

For the past two days, my dad has been trimming the trees in the back yard.  When I first saw him chopping off the branches I thought ” That would make great pictures.” I quickly grabbed my camera and ran outside to capture the tree’s decapitation.  Today, my dad continued to cut  the trees, I thought, “wait a minute, I can make some really cool crafts out of these twigs. I collected as many as a could and went inside to frivolously search the internet for twig/stick projects.

I remembered a tutorial video I had seen a few month back on HelloGiggles. “Mr. Kate,” demonstrated how to make a  “stick necklace,” which I used for today’s craft inspiration.  Below is Mr. Kate’s version of the “stick necklace.” Also check out the video of how she made it.

sticknecklace1 800x530 2 DIY Gifts for Her: Stick Necklace and Salt Scrub 


I used the same design concept, bigger sticks to smaller ones. However I did make a few changes.  I first started by sharpening each end of the sticks with a pencil sharpener, then sanded it down a bit. This gave it a more polish look, rather than an ” I just pull this stick of a tree” look.  Since I couldn’t find (and probably don’t have) paint, I wrapped red string around the sticks, the same way that Mr. Kate did with the wire. This allowed me to give the sticks some color and connect them as well.  I also didn’t have chains, so I decided to used string and “braided” a few strands together. Then attached the ends to key rings.

The main issue I had while making this craft was figuring out how to connect the sticks to my string “chain.” After blanking staring for a few minutes, the answer was literally right in front of me. My keys overflowing with key chains, sparked the idea to use key rings.

My final stick necklace turned out great. The sticks horizontal-ness and the key rings roundness are a great contrast to each other. Though this necklace is not traditional, and some have already thought it weird, I consider a statement. A statement that I’m not afraid to wear things that aren’t the ordinary, or maybe others aren’t as fashion forward as me. Either way here’s the my version* of  HelloGiggles Mr. Kate’s stick necklace:

 * Note: It’s actually still not complete. I have to finish braiding the other side, but ran out of time for today and needed to go to bed.

Leave a Reply

